Saturday, January 7, 2012

Try the Punch: Handpicked Hits from 2011

Hello friends,

Thank you for your interest in this year's mixes. For those of you new to the drill, here's a little bit about them:

The discs are organized (roughly) by genre. In total, there are five this year, and the tracklisting can be found below. Although you may be mostly interested in one or two, I encourage everyone to try them all. The country/folk mix may have Taylor Swift & Lady Antebellum on it, but it also has Bill Callahan and Cass McCombs. Hopefully everyone can find something new that they enjoy.

As always, I strongly recommend checking out the rest of these artists and bands' work. There are certainly some singles on this compilation, particularly on the Pop and Electronic mixes, but most of these songs come from albums that I love.

Thanks for all the positive feedback on the facebook page. I'd love to hear what you think of these.

Lastly, thanks to my brother for the cover photo (more here) and to Giovanni for help with the name.

Happy New Year,




DISC I : POP / HIP HOP / R&B -- 1:19:25 -- 160.5 MB

1. "1+1" -- Beyoncé (from 4) [Columbia]

2. "212" -- Azealia Banks feat. Lazy Jay (from the 212 Single) [Self-Released]

3. "Ass on the Floor" -- Diddy-Dirty Money feat. Swizz Beatz (from Last Train to Paris) [Bad Boy]

4. "Somebody That I Used to Know" -- Gotye feat. Kimbra (from Making Mirrors) [Eleven]

5. "Super Bass" -- Nicki Minaj (from the Pink Friday Deluxe Edition) [Young Money Entertainment]

6. "Niggas in Paris" -- Jay-Z & Kanye West (from Watch the Throne) [Roc-A-Fella]

7. "The Morning" -- The Weeknd (from House of Balloons) [Self-Released]

8. "Heaven" -- Emeli Sandé (from the Heaven Single) [Virgin]

9. "We Found Love" -- Rihanna feat. Calvin Harris (from Talk That Talk) [Def Jam]

10. "Novacane" -- Frank Ocean (from Nostalgia, Ultra) [Self-Released]

11. "Video Games" -- Lana Del Rey (from the Video Games Single) [Interscope]

12. "Wildfire" -- SBTRKT feat. Little Dragon (from SBTRKT) [Young Turks]

13. "Till the World Ends (The Femme Fatale Remix)" -- Britney Spears feat. Nicki Minaj & Ke$ha (from the Till the World Ends Single) [Jive]

14. "Stay Away" -- Charli XCX (from the Stay Away EP) [This is Music]

15. "Turning Tables" -- Adele (from 21) [XL]

16. "Realest Alive" -- Clams Casino (from Instrumental Mixtape) [Self-Released]

17. "Good Man" -- Raphael Saadiq (from Stone Rollin') [Columbia]

18. "Marvins Room" -- Drake (from Take Care) [Young Money]

19. "Swerve... the Reeping of All That is Worthwhile (Noir Not Withstanding)" -- Shabazz Palaces (from Black Up) [Sub Pop]

DISC II : ROCK / INDIE-ROCK -- 1:18:12 -- 155.9 MB

1. "Honey Bunny" -- Girls (from Father, Son, Holy Ghost) [True Panther Sounds]

2. "The Other Shoe" -- Fucked Up (from David Comes to Life) [Matador]

3. "Dawned on Me" -- Wilco (from The Whole Love) [dBpm]

4. "Still Life" -- The Horrors (from Skying) [XL]

5. "Operation" -- Yuck (from Yuck) [Fat Possum]

6. "It's Real" -- Real Estate (from Days) [Domino]

7. "Jesus Fever" -- Kurt Vile (from Smoke Ring for My Halo) [Matador]

8. "Baby Missiles" -- The War on Drugs (from Slave Ambient) [Secretly Canadian]

9. "Whirring" -- The Joy Formidable (from The Big Roar) [Atlantic]

10. "Imidiwan Ma Tennam" -- Tinariwen feat. Nels Cline (from Tassili) [Anti]

11. "Weekend" -- Smith Westerns (from Dye It Blonde) [Fat Possum]

12. "Ice Cream" -- Battles feat. Matias Aguayo (from Gloss Drop) [Warp]

13. "Understand at All" -- Cloud Nothings (from Cloud Nothings) [Carpark]

14. "Believer" -- John Maus (from We Must Become the Pitiless Censors of Ourselves) [Upset the Rhythm]

15. "Mona Lisa" -- Atlas Sound (from Parallax) [4AD]

16. "Marked" -- EMA (from Past Life Martyred Saints) [Souterrain Transmissions]

17. "The Stars in His Head (Dark Lights Remix)" -- Colin Stetson (from New History Warfare Vol.2: Judges) [Constellation]

18. "Replica" -- Oneohtrix Point Never (from Replica) [Mexican Summer]

19. "Ffunny Ffrends" -- Unknown Mortal Orchestra (from Unknown Mortal Orchestra) [Fat Possum]

DISC III : ELECTRONICA / DANCE -- 1:17:41 -- 148.6 MB

1. "A Real Hero" -- College feat. Electric Youth (from the Drive Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) [Lakeshore]

2. "Midnight City" -- M83 (from Hurry Up, We're Dreaming) [Naïve]

3. "Jam for Jerry" -- Holy Ghost! (from Holy Ghost!) [DFA]

4. "Social Studies (Plastic Plates Remix)" -- Body Language (from the Social Studies Single) [OM]

5. "Getting Me Down" -- Blawan (from the Getting Me Down Single) [White Label]

6. "Emergency Room" -- Ford & Lopatin (from Channel Pressure) [Software]

7. "Streetz Tonight" -- AraabMUZIK (from Electronic Dream) [Duke Productions LP]

8. "Falling" -- Hercules & Love Affair (from Blue Songs) [Moshi Moshi]

9. "Far Nearer" -- Jamie xx (from the Far Nearer / Bear For EP) [Numbers]

10. "Ye Ye" -- Daphni (from Four Tet & Daphni's Pinnacles / Ye Ye Split EP) [Text]

11. "Pyramid" -- Four Tet (from FABRICLIVE. 59) [Fabric]

12. "Snooze 4 Love" -- Todd Terje (from the Ragysh EP) [Running Back]

13. "Blue Lanterns on East Oxford" -- Mountains (from Air Museum) [Thrill Jockey]

14. "NYC" -- Burial (from the Street Halo EP) [Hyperdub]


1. "I've Been Gone" -- Zoe Muth and The Lost High Rollers (from Starlight Hotel) [Signature Sounds]

2. "Fine Tune" -- Miranda Lambert (from Four the Record) [RCA Records Nashville]

3. "Friday Night" -- Lady Antebellum (from Own the Night) [Capitol Nashville]

4. "Staying's Worse Than Leaving" -- Sunny Sweeney (from Concrete) [Republic Nashville]

5. "Don't Carry It All" -- The Decemberists (from The King is Dead) [Capitol]

6. "Steve Earle" -- Lydia Loveless (from Indestructible Machine) [Bloodshot]

7. "Drover" -- Bill Callahan (from Apocalypse) [Drag City]

8. "The Circle Married the Line" -- Feist (from Metals) [Arts & Crafts]

9. "Daphne" -- Lia Ices feat. Justin Vernon (from Grown Unknown) [Jagjaguwar]

10. "Alabama Pines" -- Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit (from Here We Rest) [Lightning Rod]

11. "The Flood" -- Glossary (from Long Live All of Us) [Last Chance]

12. "The Way It Will Be" -- Gillian Welch (from The Harrow & the Harvest) [Acony]

13. "County Line" -- Cass McCombs (from Wit's End) [Domino]

14. "Ours" - Taylor Swift (from the Speak Now Deluxe Edition Bonus Disc) [Big Machine]

15. "Takin' Pills" -- Pistol Annies (from Hell on Heels) [Columbia Nashville]

16 & 17. "First Watch" & "John Taylor's Month Away" -- King Creosote & Jon Hopkins (from Diamond Mine) [Domino]

18. "Zebra" -- Bry Webb (from Provider) [Idée Fixe]

DISC V : INDIE-POP -- 1:19:22 -- 159.9 MB

1. "Black Night" -- Dodos (from No Color) [Frenchkiss]

2. "Savage Night at the Opera" -- Destroyer (from Kaputt) [Merge]

3. "Cruel" -- St. Vincent (from Strange Mercy) [4AD]

4. "My Mistakes" -- Eleanor Friedberger (from Last Summer) [Merge]

5. "Helplessness Blues" -- Fleet Foxes (from Helplessness Blues) [Sub Pop]

6. "The Last Living Rose" -- PJ Harvey (from Let England Shake) [Island]

7. "Surfer's Hymn" -- Panda Bear (from Tomboy) [Paw Tracks]

8. "Glass Jar" -- Gang Gang Dance (from Eye Contact) [4AD]

9. "Love Out of Lust" -- Lykke Li (from Wounded Rhymes) [LL]

10. "Abducted" -- Cults (from Cults) [In the Name Of]

11. "Jareaux" -- Jensen Sportag (from the Pure Wet EP) [Cascine]

12. "Waiting for Kirsten" -- Jens Lekman (from the An Argument With Myself EP) [Service]

13. "Space is Only Noise If You Can See" -- Nicolas Jaar (from Space is Only Noise) [Circus Company]

14. "Virus" -- Björk (from Biophilia) [One Little Indian]

15. "July" -- Youth Lagoon (from The Year of Hibernation) [Fat Possum]

16. "Cloak" -- Julianna Barwick (from The Magic Place) [Asthmatic Kitty]

17. "Beth / Rest" -- Bon Iver (from Bon Iver) [Jagjaguwar]